You are here: Home

About us

The Institute for Theoretical Physics belongs to the Department of Physics and Astronomy of the Faculty of Sciences of the KU Leuven.

The research activities of the Institute cover three different areas of Modern Theoretical Physics: High-Energy Physics, Mathematical Physics and Statistical Physics.

Read more


Fultime Faculty

Nikolay Bobev (High Energy Physics)
Enrico Carlon (Statistical Physics)
Wojciech De Roeck (Mathematical Physics)
Thomas Hertog (High Energy Physics)
Joseph Indekeu (Statistical Physics)
Christian Maes (Mathematical Physics)
Antoine Van Proeyen (High Energy Physics)
Thomas Van Riet (High Energy Physics)

Parttime Faculty

Camille Aron (Statistical Physics)
Frederik Denef (High Energy Physics)
Dieter Van den Bleeken (High Energy Physics)
Carlo Vanderzande (Statistical Physics)

Overview of all members


Members of the Institute participate in the teaching of the bachelor and master courses at the KU Leuven. More information on the structure of the Master courses for students intending to specialize in Theoretical Physics can be found here.

In the course Capita Selecta Theoretical Physics (from the Master program) different topics of modern theoretical physics are treated. More information on the topics can be found on this page.

PhD and Post-doc

  • There are a number of PhD and post-doc positions available every year. If you are interested you can find more information here.
  • The IITS (Institute for Intensive Theoretical Studies) course is an annual course about some specialized topic in Theoretical Physics, at the level of beginning PhD students. For more details see IITS.


Seminars and discussions about different topics are organised on a weekly basis. More information can be found here.


For more informatiobn about our current, upcoming and past events you can visit our event page.


A list of our publications is available in Lirias, the document repository to archive the KU Leuven research output in a digital way.